Finding”me” time

Posted: September 30, 2015 in Blog, New Post, Original Content, Rants
Tags: , , , , , , ,

image

Doesn’t today’s Baby Blues™ cartoon speak volumes to us who are married with young children? Hell, teenagers too. With kids, young and teen and a wife, and a house/mortgage that requires upkeep where the hell do you find this elusive fantasy known as free time? That’s the point of this post, though I fear my efforts may be vain at best. Let’s see what I can conjure up because in this day and age of “convenience” we seem to be running around more and having less and less free time and life seems to be less and less convenient. Huh? Remind anyone of Plato’s allegory of a cave?

1. Get up early or stay up late. Both have their advantages and disadvantages. I’m not a morning person and the wife isn’t a night owl so nights work best for me… sometimes. On days where I’m dragging ass when I get home chances are I’m hitting the sack at the same time as mommy. However, when I have the energy I stay up late. I can use this time to read, surf the web, research, blog, quietly exercise, pray, meditate, etc… in other words, me time.

2. Get a hobby. More specifically a hobby that only you like and the wife is ok with. Remember, causing rift in your relationship is NOT the purpose of this post. My “me” hobby? Hunting. Now granted my boys are old enough that they want to go hunting with me, and they have for short stints but sitting still and remaining quiet isn’t in their jar of abilities yet so hunting is still a me hobby but my days are numbered. Don’t get new wrong, I love my kids and can’t wait to take them hunting for real when they are ready but the time isn’t now. Even if others come and it isn’t true me time you are still getting away from the house and everyday life and responsibilities.

3. Set up group babysitting arrangements with other mutual friends. This isn’t entirely a “me” time tip but a “couple” time tip. With young kids finding alive time to spend with your spouse is paramount and rare. Get a group of friends together and once a week one couple takes all the other families kids while they all have a date night. Next week it rotates to another family. And on and on.

4. If possible, use your lunch break to take a walk and / or relax ALONE and eat during your work time. Again, only if possible. We all need some “time off”.

5. Work extra hard with household chores so your wife will be more inclined to let you out of the house to embark in your hobby.

6. Turn off the electronics. Turn off the TV. Put the phone on the charger and put it in airplane mode. Plug in the tablet and walk away. Turn the ringer on the home phone off. Etc etc etc… So often these electronic devices steal hours of our day and create more stress in our lives.

That’s all for now, if I think of any more I’ll add them to the list.

Don’t forget to Like, Share, Comment and Subscribe. Share the love and keep on prepping.

  • Chris

Make a Donation Button

Leave a Reply

